The Association of Dental Anaesthetists (ADA) was founded in 1977 and at present has a membership of approximately 350. Consisting of both Anaesthetists and Dentists the Association aims to further the art and science of anaesthesia and sedation for dentistry and to provide a forum for discussion.

Membership of the Association is open to medical and dental practitioners with an interest in dental anaesthesia, sedation or analgesia who have been approved by Council. On occasion other persons, not medically or dentally qualified, who have been similarly approved by Council may also be granted membership. Further information regarding membership can be found on the Members page.

The Association holds a one day Winter Meeting, usually in London. During this meeting the AGM is held. CPD credits are rewarded at this meeting. Further information is available from the Meetings page.

The Association is represented on the EFAAD.

As of November 2004 the ADA became a Specialist Society of the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland. As a Specialist Society day to day administration of the Association is now carried out in house by AAGBI staff. The ADA benefits through personal telephone lines and email addresses, this new website, support for the membership database and ongoing administration, events services and most importantly a dedicated point of contact for all Association matters. We feel that this is an important step for the Association and hope that it will prove to be beneficial to all our members. A link to the AAGBI website can be found on this page.

In 2023, the ADA became ADAS to reflect the grower number of members who only carry out sedation.